CPU and memory usage

What? There's a problem? Post a message here and we'll try to get it resolved!

CPU and memory usage

Postby fuzzy76 on Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:20 pm

Suddenly my nntprss started eating up all cpu cycles and 64 mb memory more or less continous, especially when a client connects. Retrieving headlines takes ages now... :( Any ideas what it might be or how to investigate? I'm running it under Linux (Debian) and when killing it, it takes ages to start up again.
How unlikely it may seem, these are my actual opinions.
fuzzy76
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 9:24 am
Location: Tromsø, Norway

check the db

Postby weeeeed on Mon Mar 22, 2004 5:39 pm

Hi,

just a wild guess... could it be your database is too big? (can happen if you are storing old entries... I think it was something about "historic" in 0.3) If yes, check the forum for a post from jason on how to delete old entries.... i think it was in the hints and tips cat.


weeeeed
weeeeed
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 7:09 am

Postby fuzzy76 on Mon Mar 22, 2004 8:56 pm

It's just weird that this happened more or less suddenly. If that's so it's more of a bug in the database than a regular size issue. With 44 feeds and a minute or more to fetch each single post it's a patience test...
How unlikely it may seem, these are my actual opinions.
fuzzy76
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 9:24 am
Location: Tromsø, Norway

Postby jason on Tue Mar 23, 2004 4:26 am

Yes - that definitely does not sound like normal behavior, especially for a relatively moderate number of feeds. How large are the nntprssdb.* files?
jason
Site Admin
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat May 03, 2003 10:44 pm
Location: West Orange, NJ

Postby fuzzy76 on Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:46 am

Code: Select all
-rw-r--r--    1 root     staff     9129374 Mar 22 17:10 nntprssdb.backup
-rw-r--r--    1 root     staff    21000768 Mar 23 05:00 nntprssdb.data
-rw-r--r--    1 root     staff         343 Mar 22 17:11 nntprssdb.properties
-rw-r--r--    1 root     staff      170490 Mar 23 09:48 nntprssdb.script


My guess since this happened so suddenly is that it might be an entry in one of the feeds that does it. In that case it hopefully rotates out soon. :) Unless its it's occurence in the db, in that case I'm doomed until v0.4... :o
How unlikely it may seem, these are my actual opinions.
fuzzy76
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 9:24 am
Location: Tromsø, Norway


Return to Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron